Gifted Education

Gifted Education

Gifted Education

According to the Ohio Revised Code Section 3324.01, “Gifted means students who
perform or show potential for performing at remarkable high levels of accomplishment
when compared to others of their age, experience, or environment.” To be identified as
gifted, students must perform at a gifted level, generally at or above the 95th percentile,
on a state approved, nationally normed test in one or more of the following areas:
Cognitive Ability, Mathematics, Reading/Writing, Science, Social Studies, and Visual
and Performing Arts.
Identifying Students for Gifted Services
In the West Carrollton School District, all second and fifth grade students take the
Cognitive Abilities Test (CogAT) tests in late winter. This test is used to identify students
with superior cognitive ability and superior creative thinking ability. Students also take
the iReady Diagnostic test three times per year in reading and math, which is used to
identify students performing at the gifted level in these subject areas in second through
fifth grade. Teachers are informed if their students are performing at a gifted level in
these areas and use this information with other classroom data to guide their planning
and instruction.

Students in any grade can also be nominated for gifted testing in Cognitive Ability,
Creative Thinking, Math, Reading, Science, Social Studies, or Visual and Performing
Arts. Assessments used for nominated students include the CogAT, Iowa Assessments,
Woodcock Johnson, or other instruments approved by the State of Ohio for gifted
identification. Please note that Ohio State Test (AIR or OST) scores are not approved
for gifted identification in the state of Ohio because they are not nationally normed.
Parents, teachers, and students may find the nomination form by going to the section
called “Nominations” on the side menu bar on this page.

Providing Services for Students Identified as Gifted
Grades 3-4

Gifted services at the elementary level are provided in grades two through four to
students identified as gifted in math, reading, or cognitive ability. This program,
known as the Enrichment Learning Center or ELC, is taught by a gifted intervention
specialist in a pull-out program for approximately 240 minutes per week.

Grades 5-8
Gifted services at the intermediate and middle school level are provided in grades
five through eight to students identified as gifted in language arts, math, and
science. Cluster-grouped classes are taught by Gifted Intervention Specialists or
trained Gifted Service Providers with support from Gifted Intervention Specialists,
who provide differentiated and challenging curricula based on student readiness,
knowledge, and skill level. Some students may also participate in enriched or
accelerated classes.

Grades 9-12
In grades nine through twelve, gifted students have options such as Honors classes
or high school classes for college credit at West Carrollton High School or off
campus, known as College Credit Plus or CCP. These classes are taught by trained
Gifted Service Providers or teachers approved to teach college-level courses.
Qualification for these opportunities varies and some may require test scores and/or
teacher recommendations.

Students and/or parents interested in learning more about these opportunities should
contact teachers, counselors and/or administrators.

View text-based website