Curriculum, Instruction, and Creativity
Educate means to lead out – not to stuff in.
Learning is not done to you – Learning is something you choose to do.
We have succeeded at teaching our students how to be taught and
what we need to do now is teach them how to learn!
Our curriculum, instructional, and creativity coaches utilize the DEAI (Design, Empowerment, Accountability, Innovation) model for assessing, aligning, and accelerating all teaching and learning in the West Carrollton City Schools.  Our mission:  to engage students’ minds, muscles, and imaginations.  Our Core Values:  improvement, learning, leadership, value, results.  We want all of our students to be able to answer the following three key questions: Where are you going?  Where are you now?  How will you close the gap?
Curriculum Coaches:  Reading, Writing, Speaking, Listening, Vocabulary, Thinking (RWSL/VT) – 21 Thinking Routines – New Learning Standards – Next Generation Assessments
RWSL/VT  K-12 “Literacy Strand” alignment in language arts, math, science, and social studies – i.e., student mastery and comprehension, what students should know and be able to demonstrate across and through the curriculum
21 Thinking Routines:  Routines for Introducing and Exploring Ideas - See-Think-Wonder, Zoom In, Think-Puzzle-Explore, Chalk Talk, 3 – 2 – 1  Bridge, Compass Points, The Explanation Game
Routines for Synthesizing and Organizing Ideas – Headlines, CSI:  Color, Symbol, Image, Generate-Sort-Connect-Elaborate, Concept Maps, Connect-Extend-Challenge, The 4C’s, The Micro Lab Protocol, I Used to Think  ... , Now I Think  ...
Routines for Digging Deeper into Ideas - What Makes You Say That?, Circle of Viewpoints, Step Inside, Red Light, Yellow Light, Claim-Support-Question, Tug-of-War, Sentence-Phrase-Word
New Learning Standards:  In 2010, Ohio adopted new, higher learning standards for students in language arts, math, science, and social studies.  Students will study only the most important and useful concepts within each subject, each year.  They will drill much deeper into each area, learning to apply more knowledge and skills in the subject.
Next Generation of Assessments:  Ohio is moving from paper and pencil state tests to a computer-based testing system in 2014-2015.  There are two parts of the new tests – performance-based and end-of-year.  Each part occurs at different times in the 2014-2015 school year.  In several years, students will take each part when the teacher believes he or she is ready, not in one specific month.  Until that time, students will take the tests per the district test schedule.
Instructional Coaches What’s a grade? – Formative Assessment Process (FAP) – Feedback
What’s a grade?  Beginning in January 2011, we adopted a new grading policy in an effort to focus on academic achievement and improve consistency in grading practices with a goal of focusing more closely on what a student should know or can demonstrate.  Grades are based on two categories of student work:  Practice (work completed in the process of learning) and Achievement (work completed after learning).  At WCHS, practice will comprise no more than 15% of a student’s grade and achievement will comprise at least 85% of a student’s grade.  At WCMS, practice is no more than 20% and achievement is at least 80%.  The mathematical calculation underlying our elementary standards based report card is 30% practice and 70% achievement.
1 - Identify/select content standard
2 - Transform content standard into student-friendly language and define learning targets 
      (i.e., knowledge/understanding, reasoning, performance skill, create product)
3 - Build a Learning Progression for each learning target and write “I Can and/or I Will”
      statements for each Learning Progression “building block”
4 - Determine assessment method and create “building block” assessments that match
      intended learning targets (i.e., selected response, extended written response,
      performance assessment, personal communication)
5 - Administer learning progression “building block” assessments
6 - Provide “building block” assessment-based descriptive Feedback to students
7 - Utilize “building block” assessment-elicited evidence for teachers to adjust ongoing
      instructional procedures and/or for students to adjust learning tactics  
Creativity Coaches:  Project-Based Learning (PBL) – Intellectual Virtues
PBL Our goal is for every student to have a PBL experience at every grade level and in every content area.  PBL Eight Essential Elements: 
1 - Significant Content
2 - 21st Century Competencies
3 - In-Depth Inquiry
4 - Need to Know
5 - Driving Question
6 - Voice and Choice
7 - Reflection and Revision
8 - Public Audience   
Intellectual Virtues:  The personal qualities of a good thinker, a good learner, and/or a lifelong learner.  The virtues fall into three categories:
(1) getting the learning process started and headed in the right direction - Curiosity,
      Intellectual Humility, and Intellectual Autonomy;
(2) making the learning process go well - Attentiveness, Intellectual Carefulness, and
      Intellectual Thoroughness; and
(3) overcoming challenges to productive learning - Open-mindedness, Intellectual Courage,
      and Intellectual Perseverance.   
Beth Moore
Curriculum Supervisor
Phone:  (937) 859-5121 Ext. 1133



West Carrollton Symbaloo
West Carrollton Twitter
West Carrollton YouTube
430 E. Pease Avenue   West Carrollton, OH 45449      Telephone: (937) 859-5121   Fax: (937) 859-5250
Email Contact: Tammy Pierce School CMS created by eSchoolView