Student Services, Special Education, & Homeless Liaison
The Special Education Department oversees all aspects of special needs students education and care. Additionally, the department supervises school nurses, psychologists and family resource coordinators as well as a variety of aides that help serve students.

How to get services for your child

Ohio school districts are required to provide free, appropriate educational services to all children in their attendance area, ages 3 through 21, who are determined to have a disability. Disability, in this case, means such conditions as hearing impairments, visual impairments, speech or language impairments, specific learning disabilities, emotional disturbance, multiple disabilities, cognitive disabilities, physical impairments, other health impairments, autism and traumatic brain injury. Schools are also required to provide evaluations to determine if a child has a disability. If you have or know a West Carrollton School District child who may have a disability, contact the Department of Student Services.
 
Who's Serving Your Child 
 
The Student Services Department oversees the following employees who provide services to students. All employees can be reached by dialing 937-859-5121 and entering the listed extension.

Melissa Theis, Assistant Superintendent, Ext. 1122, mtheis@wcsd.k12.oh.us

Kim Harvey, Administrative Assistant, Student Services, Ext. 1126, kharvey@wcsd.k12.oh.us

School Nursing Team

Our schools are staffed by a health care team that includes three licensed school nurses and four licensed practical nurses:

Walter Shade Early Childhood Center (ECC) - Maria Buzzard, RN, BSN, LSN
 
Frank Nicholas Elementary - April Knick, LPN
 
C.F. Holliday Elementary - Jessica Schneider, LPN
 
Harry Russell Elementary - Beth Urich, LPN
 
Harold Schnell Elementary - Megan Hammermeister, LPN
 
West Carrollton Middle School - Roz Suprenant, RN, MEd, LSN
 
West Carrollton High School - Kim Hicks, RN, LSN 

School Psychologists

West Carrollton Schools employs four full time and one part time school psychologists.

Rachel Binnix (High School), ext. 8883, rbinnix@wcsd.k12.oh.us
 
Lauren Evans (Middle School), ext. 7776, levans@wcsd.k12.oh.us 
 
Robin Halter (ECC), ext. 7744, rhalter@wcsd.k12.oh.us

Kelley Johnston (ECC/Nicholas/Schnell), ext. 4420, kjohnston@wcsd.k12.oh.us
 
Marie Turnbull (Holliday/Russell), ext. 3361, mturnbull@wcsd.k12.oh.us 
 
Elementary Counselors

Each West Carrollton school building has a counselor to help families access services.

Sara Opperman (Holliday/Russell/ECC), ext. 4426, sopperman@wcsd.k12.oh.us
 
Jasmine Tolbert (Nicholas/Schnell/ECC), ext. 2254, jtolbert@wcsd.k12.oh.us 
 
 
BULLYING/HARASSMENT REPORT
 
 
no alternative text given Melissa Theis
Assistant Superintendent
430 E. Pease Ave.
West Carrollton, Ohio 45449
Phone: 
(937) 859-5121, Ext. 1122

 

Kim Harvey
Administrative Assistant

Phone:  (937) 859-5121 Ext. 1126
Fax:  (937) 865-5724
E-mail:  kharvey@wcsd.k12.oh.us 
 
 
West Carrollton Symbaloo
West Carrollton Twitter
West Carrollton YouTube
430 E. Pease Avenue   West Carrollton, OH 45449      Telephone: (937) 859-5121   Fax: (937) 859-5250
Email Contact: Tammy Pierce School CMS created by eSchoolView